schoolgates

Just another WordPress.com site

Sick note

on April 23, 2012

The girl has spent most of Sunday throwing her guts up and is feeling a little rotten today to say the least. Going to sleep on an empty stomach is an alien concept for the girl that eats everything and I did feel very sorry for the sad little figure who went to bed last night with a face the colour of unbaked cake mix. I have had to take the day off work today as a result – not ideal since I’m self-employed – and am in a quandary about what to do tomorrow. I know that school rules dictate she must not go back to school until 48 hours have passed since her last bout of sickness but who’s to know? I could say she was sick on the Saturday instead, send her back on Tuesday (24 hours vomit-free) and get back to earning the pennies myself ASAP.

I have had discussions at the school gates before about parents sending their children back to school sneakily early following illness and have been irritated beyond belief that such people are putting their own needs before the potential health of every other child in that class. However, now that the shoe is on the other foot, the little devil on my shoulder (I think it’s Dad) is saying ‘sod it, it’s every woman for herself in a situation like this especially as work has been especially slow the last few months ‘ and it’s true, I can ill afford to lose another day. Besides, no-one else seems to have a strict moral code of ethics about sending their sick child to school so why the hell should I? But then the nice little voice in my head (I think it’s Mum) tells me not to be such a sheep and that two wrongs don’t make a right, yada yada, yada. So what to do? What to do?

Hmmm, I have always been a bit of a Daddy’s girl, so…

Leave a Reply

