schoolgates

Just another WordPress.com site

Out of school experience

on April 18, 2012

I recently had a weird experience with one of the teachers at the girl’s school. She seems perfectly nice but insists on talking to me as if I’m one of the pupils. There’s a lot of over-exaggeration with her hand and facial gestures and she uses sign language in conjunction with regular speech. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m all for my kids learning signing as part of their education (very handy when communicating with hard-of-hearing classmates and grandma). However, I do object to being summoned to the classroom to discuss my daughter and being pulled down into a semi-crouch in order to communicate on her level. Seriously, is this taking things a little too far? I know that the teachers probably employ this tactic during their working day but frankly, I was a little taken aback with the approach and was hardly dressed for the occasion (too tight trousers and no belt). Anyone walking in behind us must have thought they’d veered of course and into the scooter rack by mistake.

Still, uncomfortable hunched as I was, I endeavoured to try and keep my mind on what she was telling me but in actual fact, I was so desperate to get vertical again, I just nodded along with what she was saying; anything in fact to get this woman’s increasingly animated face out of my own. I have to admit, I found the experience faintly terrifying. I’m sure the kids must be just as bewildered when faced with this approach during the school day and probably fess up to many a misdemeanour they may or may not have committed just to get away from the crazy lady. She would have done a roaring trade back in the days of the Spanish Inquisition I’m sure.

When my friends at the school gates asked what I’d been summoned about, I honestly had no idea and was still a little dazed by the experience. I was fairly sure that I’d agreed to something judging by the amount of frantic nodding and over-exuberant clapping that ensued following my smiling agreement but only time will tell what, if anything, is expected of me over the coming weeks. One thing I do know for sure though, is that I’ll definitely be wearing more comfortable clothing on subsequent school runs.

Leave a Reply

