schoolgates

Just another WordPress.com site

Driving me potty (training)

on April 14, 2012

Well, it’s been decided. Tomorrow is the day when I get my son on the potty and out of nappies. It’s not just the cost of nappies (well, it might be one of the reasons) but changing a nearly three year old’s poopy pants is not a pleasant experience and frankly, he’s getting far too big for the changing table. I’m not entirely sure how long it’s going to be before the whole thing collapses under the weight of a wriggling pre-schooler.

I must admit I’ve been fairly lazy thus far and delayed the whole potty-training process mainly for selfish reasons. I’ve always found it much simpler to change a nappy (which takes two minutes and can be done anywhere) than approach the ‘drying out’ business which involves reminding them to go every five minutes, changing soiled pants/trousers/t-shirt/socks on an hourly basis and being effectively house-bound for around two weeks. Even if I do decide to venture outside, I’ll be responsible for carrying a potty EVERYWHERE and be charged with finding suitable locations to a) get the potty out to put him on it and b) dispose of the evidence afterwards. Having been through this once already with the big girl, I’m really not looking forward to it again.

However, tomorrow is most definitely the day. I have no parties, holidays or anything else important planned for the next few days and am fully stocked with spare wipes and an impressive supply of pull ups. All that remains is for me to take a deep breath, break open the wine (a well-deserved reward at the end of each day of the process) and go with the flow (as it were!)

I’ll be sure to let you know when we’ve cracked it (*ahem*)

Leave a Reply

