schoolgates

Just another WordPress.com site

The terrible twos – it gets better right?

on April 8, 2012

My son started ‘the terrible twos’ aged about 15 months and as he approaches his third birthday, he’s still suffering (as are the rest of us) from his condition. What I’ve been forced to regretfully conclude is that what I thought was merely a rite of passage that all toddlers (and their families) are forced to endure might in actual fact, merely be his adult personality emerging. I mean the one we might be stuck with for the rest of our lives. And of course, I blame his father.

It’s not that I wasn’t prepared for the terrible twos; I do in fact have an older daughter who was particularly challenging aged 2 but she came out the other side a sunnier happier child. Not so my son however!

If I say ‘no,’ to anything, he cries, if I say ‘maybe not this time’ he throws something and if my daughter dares to object to anything, he slaps her. I’ve lost count of the number of times he’s been naughty-stepped, sent to his room, had toys removed and been forced to apologise, but it makes no difference.

When I mentioned this behaviour to my mum, she suggested that maybe my expectations of ‘the little lad’ were too high and that it’s nice to have a child with some get-up-and-go. WTF?

It’s not that he doesn’t have a sweet side (he does) and the kisses and hugs I get from him are relentless (and very much appreciated) but my mum admits he reminds her of a little girl she once knew who had a nasty temper, a tendency to throw things when angry and an olympic capacity for sulking.

I don’t ever remember meeting that little girl but mum assured me (with raised eyebrows) that she grew out of it all eventually and went on to have a lovely little family of her own. I wonder where she is now…

6 responses to “The terrible twos – it gets better right?

  1. My 19-month old sprouts a little horn some days too. We’re starting the terrible twos so I’m bracing for a rougher ride ahead based on what I hear.

  2. Sleeping Mom says:

    I agree that a lot of it has to do with temperament. Tantrums are inappropriate ways of showing frustration. I’m sure your little guy will grow out of it soon!

    • schoolgates says:

      well, I’ve switched tactics aka Supernanny and am now using the ‘when…then… approach,’ i.e. “when you throw your toys, then they will break. Perhaps we should be more careful.” It seems to be working but we are only on day 2 and the boy seems somewhat confused about the changes going on.

  3. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

